Please Note:
Due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, many of the deals and offers mentioned are not currently available.
Please check with individual suppliers before making travel plans.


Monday, 3 November 2008

Australia’s Best Travel Journalists Honoured in Shanghai

Louise Southerden accepts the big one from Helen Wong, Helen Wongs Tours

Celebrating their prestigious gala awards night in Shanghai, courtesy of Helen Wong’s Tours, the Australian Society of Travel Writers (ASTW) paid homage to its own best and fairest.

Held at the ballroom of the wonderful new Swissotel, the ASTW handed out 17 awards at this years ceremony, honouring writers, photographers and public relations professionals in the travel industry.

The three major awards of the evening went to:

Louise Southerden - 2008 Travel Writer of the Year

John Borthwick - 2008 Travel Photographer of the Year

Donna Parkin - 2008 Communicator of the Year

Other winners were:

Best Australian Story over 1000 Words - Daniel Scott, Gorge on the scenery, The Sydney Morning Herald Traveller, September 2007.

Best Australian Story under 1000 Words - Roderick Eime, Take a step back to a simpler, cleaner time, Sunday Telegraph Escape Sydney, October 2007.

Best International Story over 1000 Words - Alistair Smith, Adventure a la carte, The Sydney Morning Herald Traveller, February 2008.

Best International Story under 1000 Words - Sue Wallace, All that glisters, The Age, December 2007

Travel Writer of the Year Trade/Industry - James Wilkinson, A Low Cost Revolution, HM
Magazine, February 2008

Travel Writer of the Year Responsible Tourism - Louise Southerden, Know Howe, G Magazine, April 2008

Best Image taken in Australia – Ewen Bell, Letting Fly, Out there, September 2007

Best Image taken Overseas John Borthwick - Cheetah Family, Vacations & Travel Magazine, January 2008.

Best Travel Journey of the Year – Louise Southerden, Water and Ice: Sea kayaking in the Arctic. Outdoor Australia, March/April 2008

Travel Book of the Year – Marc Llewellyn - Finding Nino, A sea change in Italy, Harper Collins, May 2008

Best Australian State Tourism Organisation – Tourism Queensland

Best Australian Regional Tourism Organisation – Great Ocean Road Marketing

Best International Tourism Organisation – Canadian Tourism Commission

Jack Butters Award for Most Outstanding Contribution to the ASTW – Mike Smith, Daily & Sunday Telegraph, Sydney

Congratulating all finalists and winners, incoming ASTW President Vincent Ross said the evening was undoubtedly the most successful awards night the Society had ever held. With a record number of awards handed out and a record number of entries received, the event marked an important step forward for our Society, he said.

Leading an unprecedented line-up of sponsors, principal sponsor Helen Wong from Wong’s Tours said with such highly credentialed writers vying for awards, it was an honour to be part of the event and to support the ASTW. "As a long-time member of the ASTW, I value the close association, and have done for many years by hosting such major events as the ASTW AGM and Awards Night in China."

Full list of sponsors: Principal Sponsor Helen Wong’s Tours; Event Sponsor Macau Government Tourism Office; Award Sponsors - :Virgin Blue; The Ghan; Small Luxury Hotels of the World; Holidays for Couples; Vacations & Travel Magazine; Travmedia;; Thai Airways; Preferred Hotel Group.


Book Your Travel with Wego